Happy Birthday, GymNiceTic! + Best of

How time flies! Exactly one year ago I decided to start my own blog about gymnastics. 233 posts and 298 comments later I know a lot more about gymnastics but still not enough…

For the first anniversary (and hopefully not the last) I will not only change the header colour (!) 🙂 but also give you a short overview of the popular, the best and the boring things which happend on this website.

the top posts (all time/year)

  1. Gymnastic films
  2. More leotards, leotards, leotards
  3. TV show: Make it or break it – thoughts

my top posts (all time/year)

  1. Gymnastics blogs – I found a lot new blogs just doing this post
  2. Elite gymnast = Movie star (1)/(2)/(3) – thanks to all the people who take (funny/strange) pictures and upload them
  3. REAL artistry in gymnastics – it’s one of the first posts I did and I am still hoping acrobatic gymnastics will be a widely known and maybe even an Olympic sport one day

+ “clips for now and then”

best comments

  1. “I have brown hair. It’s only blue glitter. Best regards” (Marta) – this answers my question whether any elite gymnast actually reads gymnastics blogs (I know, there is still a chance that it’s not Marta Pihan-Kulesza herself, but in this case my feeling tells me it’s really her…)
  2. “No more updates? :( (Amy) – when I read this comment after a long non-blogging period it really made me start again
  3. “A D+D acro is .2 on beam, so she should start at a 6.4? But if she was credited a 6.0 it makes me think she should start at a 6.5, because she was missing the backwards salto EGR (-.5). (Onodi’s and arabians count as foward saltos I believe). As for the BHS, I’m guessing she’s either planning to connect it to a LOSO (for the EGR) or to the arabian (for .2 in CV)” (Matt) – this one is representative for all the helpful comments, answers and advice (here we tried to figure out what the judges did to Mustafina’s score on beam at the Japan Cup)

At this point it’s time for a big thank you for all the nice, informative and corrective comments you left on my blog!

Speaking of gratitude… Thanks to all the editors, writers, bloggers who mentioned and linked to GymNiceTic!

the boring posts

Sometimes you just write about something (nearly) nobody is interested in…

  1. Wanna meet Hambüchen? Chew gum! – it’s a pretty recent post and I admit: it’s absolutely nonsense
  2. Who let the dogs out? – see above
  3. Gymnastics Federations around the World – though it only contains one link, I still think the link to all the gymnastics federations might be helpful

Watch out for more (interesting, not boring!) posts in the next 12 month!!

6 Responses to “Happy Birthday, GymNiceTic! + Best of”

  1. Rick McCharles Says:

    Love the blog. Read every post.

    … And after a year you are now one of the “old” blogs on the WWW.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Admin @ Full Twist Says:

    Congratulations! Delighted for you – always a great read! Thinking about it… I’m coming up on my 1st birthday too soon 🙂

  3. Full Twist » Little Links 16/3/10 Says:

    […] is celebrating it’s First Birthday – […]

  4. Amy Says:

    Yay!!! New updates AND I get my name in a post!! Hehe 😛

    hey, have you seen the Couch Gymnast Magazine??

  5. Happy 2nd Birthday, GymNiceTic! + Best of « GymNiceTic Says:

    […] year, I posted the three and my three top posts. This time I’ll go a little further and share … the five and my five top posts of all […]

Leave a Reply

