Hambüchen can’t wait to comeback

"Ball des Sports" (dpa)

Fabian Hambüchen, THE star of German gymnastics, is already focused on his hopefully soonish and successful comeback after he tore his achilles tendon in January. He’ll be at the European Championships in Berlin, but only to support the team and to speak with the media – not as a competitor.

IG spoke to him about his recovery.

“I’m doing a lot of strength training for my upper body and my right leg,” he said. “I am trying to keep up my muscles but we will start doing strength with the left leg pretty soon.” […] “Nobody can tell you exactly when I will be able to train and compete again. Normally it takes six months, but I just want to get back in shape and get healthy, and then I’ll look to the calendar. I hope to be back at worlds but we have to stay realistic, so I know that it won’t be easy.” (complete IG article)

The 23-year-old seems very serious about his big goal: London 2012 – that’s what keeps him going every day.

photo credits: AFP

see more photos of his recovery on rp-online

UPDATE: Watch him and Philipp Boy in an interview at this years “Ball des Sports” (German).

2 Responses to “Hambüchen can’t wait to comeback”

  1. Hambuchen, Fahrig out of Europeans — Gymnastics Coaching.com Says:

    […] First Hambuchen was injured out with a snapped Achilles. […]

  2. Watch Hambüchen on his long way back… « GymNiceTic Says:

    […] I reported about Fabian Hambüchen‘s recovery from his surgery in January after he tore his achilles […]

Leave a Reply

